Golf Forum - Golf Rewound is the Family Friendly Golf Forum and Discussion Group  

Go Back   Golf Forum - Golf Rewound is the Family Friendly Golf Forum and Discussion Group > Out on the Links > The Practice Range
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

The Practice Range For those in need of advice (slice, shanks, short game, training aids, etc.) or have advice to share.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2008, 03:25 PM
Claret Jug

Thumbs down Double-hit chip

Last time I played, I double-hit a short chip when my ball had sunk pretty far into the rough.

5 years ago this happened to me too often, I studied the problem, practiced, and I figured out a fool-proof way on how to avoid this. I would share my findings with you if I could, but for the life of my I cannot remember what I figured out back then, and I didn't write down notes either!

So I am taking the easy way out, and I am asking you for advice on how to avoid this problem, to help me refresh my memory! What I figured out back then was related to golf-technique, not club-selection, but I will take any advice!
Old 07-12-2008, 06:26 PM
Out of Bounds
Tour Card

Re: Double-hit chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by straightshooter View Post
Last time I played, I double-hit a short chip when my ball had sunk pretty far into the rough.

5 years ago this happened to me too often, I studied the problem, practiced, and I figured out a fool-proof way on how to avoid this. I would share my findings with you if I could, but for the life of my I cannot remember what I figured out back then, and I didn't write down notes either!

So I am taking the easy way out, and I am asking you for advice on how to avoid this problem, to help me refresh my memory! What I figured out back then was related to golf-technique, not club-selection, but I will take any advice!
If I had to suggest a method, I'd say hit it like a bunker shot: open face, aim left, swing left, ball comes out right.